Timing

How long does DHA licensing take?

DHA states no total time. Here is each step, who controls it, and what DHA says about its timing.

Short answer: DHA does not state one total time for licensing. It states some step times: a new primary source verification report takes 15 working days from payment, and an oral assessment result takes five working days. Other steps depend on you or on other bodies, so the total varies. This page lists each step and who controls it.

Each step, who controls it, and what DHA says

Read the table as a list of what is stated, not as a forecast. Where the last column says "Not stated", we looked in the Licensing Manual, the Assessment Manual, the PQR and the Sheryan FAQ and found no time. DHA's FAQ says each service in Sheryan has a description with its timeframe, fees and requirements, so check the service you are applying for.

Licensing steps: who controls them and what DHA says about their time
StepWho controls itWhat DHA states about time
Self-Assessment Tool in SheryanYouDHA calls it a free service giving an immediate evaluation
Review eligibility (only if the tool says not eligible)DHA accreditation teamNot stated in the documents we read. The service description in Sheryan lists the timeframe
Home registration and good standing certificateYour council or regulatorNot stated by DHA. DHA wants the certificate valid and not older than six months when you apply
Primary source verification (DataFlow), new reportDataFlow, with your universities and employers15 working days from the payment date (DHA's FAQ)
Primary source verification, transfer of an existing reportDataFlowFive working days from the payment date (DHA's FAQ)
Computer-based exam (Prometric)You book, subject to availabilityNo fixed dates and no waiting period between attempts. Result: the Assessment Manual says within two working days, and the Sheryan FAQ says Prometric results are shared instantly
Oral assessment (some titles only)DHA panelFeedback on a date range within five working days, and results within five working days (DHA's FAQ)
Get Registered application reviewDHANot stated in the documents we read. The service description in Sheryan lists the timeframe
Activation into a licenceYour employing health facilityNot stated by DHA. Registration is valid for one year

What can run at the same time

DHA says the primary source verification (PSV) and the computer-based exam "can be done simultaneously". The Get Registered application cannot be processed until the PSV report is complete and the exam is passed, if it is required. So the slower of the two sets the pace.

Collecting your good standing certificate, translating documents and creating your Sheryan account are also things you can do while you wait for other steps, but a good standing certificate has to be valid and not older than six months when you apply, so do not collect it too early. DHA does not say how long your home council takes.

What can add time, according to DHA's documents

These come from DHA's own rules.

  • A document that cannot be verified. DataFlow reports positive, unable to verify or discrepancy. You can ask for re-verification of the same document twice after an unable to verify result and once after a discrepancy.
  • Documents not in English or Arabic. DHA requires a legal translation uploaded with the original-language copy.
  • A name that does not match. The name on your passport must match your Sheryan registration, and DHA says to contact it at least five days before the exam if it does not.
  • Not responding. DHA may reject an application if there is no response from the applicant for more than three months.
  • Not passing. DHA gives three attempts per position. There is no waiting period between exam attempts, but an appointment depends on availability. After a third failure you are blocked from reapplying for two years, with limited exceptions.
  • A registration that is not activated. A pass leads to a registration certificate valid for one year. A health facility has to activate it into a licence, and the facility needs an active licence and, for non-UAE nationals, a valid labour card. DHA states no time for activation.
  • A gap in practice. DHA generally does not license a non-UAE national with a gap of more than five years, and a gap of more than three years brings extra CME or CPD and the exam.

How long a result stays useful

A pass leads to a registration certificate valid for one year from the result date, according to the Assessment Manual. The Licensing Manual says registration is valid for one year from issue and can be renewed within 90 days before it expires. If your pass is more than two years old and you have a practice gap, you may need a new assessment. These are validity periods, not processing times.

Why there is no month range here

You will see ranges in months on other websites. We do not repeat them, because we could not find one in any DHA document, and the real time depends on your home council, your university, your employers, DataFlow's ability to reach them and DHA's review. If you want a rough plan, add up the stated step times, then add your own margin for the steps that are not stated.

What to do next

Start the slow, outside-your-control steps first: your good standing certificate (timed to the six-month rule), your documents and your Sheryan account. Then book the exam when you are ready to sit it.

Meddex is an independent preparation platform and is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by the Dubai Health Authority (DHA), Prometric, UAE University or the National Institute of Health Specialties (NIHS). Always confirm exam details on the official websites. Last reviewed .

Frequently asked questions

Free test

Find out where you stand in ten minutes

Answer ten exam-style questions, one from each main subject, and see your score and weakest subjects straight away.

  • No sign-up and no card
  • Your score by subject, instantly
  • An explanation for every answer

Find out where you stand.

Take the free 10-minute test. You get a score for each subject and know what to study first. No sign-up needed.